Ghorepani Poonhill Trek


A relatively easy trek and yet filled with one of the most beautiful sceneries in the world, the Ghorepani Poonhill Trek is designed to fit everybody’s interests and physical capabilities. Offering spectacular and breath-taking views of the Annapurna range accompanied by wonderful scenery of forests and waterfalls, as well as a series of culturally rich villages, this trek offers pleasure to both nature lovers and people who want to learn about the rural every-day life in Nepal. It can easily be listed as one of the most popular treks in the Nepal’s Himalayas.



The trek begins in Pokhara – a tourist hub some 200 kilometers western from Kathmandu. Pokhara is considered to be the jewel of Nepal, since it has both a beautiful lake and climate and an astounding view of the Himalayan snow peaks. After spending the day boating and enjoying Pokhara’s wide range of restaurants and bars, travellers will begin to ascend from Nayapul the next morning. The gradual climb to Thikedhunga (4 hours) is filled up with the contrast of the flow of the river over a rocky terrain from the one side, and a lush green forest on the other. Thikedhunga is a reward for the successful climb of the first day in itself. It is a cozy Magar village oozing with culture on every corner. The following day consists of climb to Ghorepani. The relatively steep uphill to the destination will be eased by the diversity of scenery available on the way. The landscapes range from views of the charming village architecture and the smell of tea to lush green forests and hills everywhere around.

The snowy Himalayan peaks will be quietly peaking behind the hills, giving the travellers just the right motivation to keep it going. The culmination of the trek will be reached in the next morning, after spending the night in Ghorepani. Before sunrise, the trekkers will have the chance to experience an astounding Himalayan sunrise in Poonhill, the highest point of this trek (3210m). The whole range of mountains will be visible from the platform, the peaks revealing their magnificent grandeur while bathing in the first rays of the sun. After indulging in a splendid sunrise and a delicious breakfast, the trekkers will start descending to Ghandruk. The way to Ghandruk is piercing through the hills and valleys of white and red blossoms of rhododendron if it is in March and through beautiful mixture of colors, sounds and smells if it is any time else in the year. In addition, Ghandruk is one of the most fascinating villages in Nepal, with Gurung culture on every corner. The travellers will have the chance to try traditional Gurung costumes or ride on horses through the slope setting of the village. After a day filled with culture and fun, the trekkers will proceed descending to Nayapul in the following day, where a taxi will wait for them and bring them back to Pokhara.


Outline Itinerary

  • Day 1 :

    Arrival at the Tribuwan International Airport in Kathmandu (1,345m).Overnight at a hotel.

  • Day 2 :

    Drive from Kathmandu to Pokhara (850meters), 200km: 6-7 hours. Overnight at Hotel

  • Day 3 :

    After breakfast, drive from Pokhara to Nayapul 1 hour and start trek to Tikhe Dhunga (1495 meters) - 4 hours. Overnight at Local Guest House

  • Day 4 :

    Trek to Ghorepani (2850meters) - 6 hours. Overnight at Local Guest House.

  • Day 5 :

    Early Morning Hike up to Poonhill (3210meters) to view sunrise and return to Guest house. After breakfast trek to Tadapani (2520 meters) -8 hours. Overnight at Local Guest House.

  • Day 6 :

    Trek to Ghandruk (2070meters)-3 hours.Overnight at Local Guest House..

  • Day 7 :

    Trek to down to Nayapul -4 hours and drive back to Pokhara -1 hour. Overnight at Hotel.

  • Day 8 :

    Drive from Pokhara to Kathmandu by tourist bus.

  • Day 9 :

    Transfer to airport and fly back to home.


  • Sun 7 February, 2016

  • Fri 12 February, 2016

  • Fri 19 February, 2016

  • Wed 24 February, 2016

  • Sat 27 February, 2016

  • Thu 3 March, 2016

  • Tue 8 March, 2016

  • Sun 13 March, 2016

  • Sun 20 March, 2016

  • Sat 26 March, 2016

  • Mon 28 March, 2016

  • Tue 5 April, 2016

  • Sat 9 April, 2016

  • Fri 15 April, 2016

  • Thu 21 April, 2016

  • Tue 26 April, 2016

  • Sat 30 April, 2016

  • Tue 3 May, 2016

  • Tue 10 May, 2016

  • Tue 17 May, 2016

  • Sun 22 May, 2016

  • Sun 29 May, 2016

  • Thu 2 June, 2016

  • Sat 11 June, 2016

  • Mon 20 June, 2016

  • Sun 26 June, 2016

  • Tue 5 July, 2016

  • Fri 15 July, 2016

  • Tue 13 September, 2016

  • Thu 22 September, 2016

  • Thu 29 September, 2016

  • Sat 1 October, 2016

  • Wed 5 October, 2016

  • Tue 11 October, 2016

  • Sat 15 October, 2016

  • Tue 18 October, 2016

  • Fri 21 October, 2016

  • Wed 26 October, 2016

  • Sun 30 October, 2016

  • Fri 4 November, 2016

  • Thu 10 November, 2016

  • Fri 18 November, 2016

  • Fri 25 November, 2016

  • Fri 29 January, 2016

  • Sat 3 December, 2016

  • Mon 12 December, 2016

  • Sun 18 December, 2016

  • Thu 22 December, 2016

  • Sat 24 December, 2016

  • Fri 30 December, 2016

Package Price: On Request

The Trip Cost Includes

  • Airport transfers by private car in Kathmandu
  • Round way tourist bus to Pokhara
  • 2 nights accommodation in Kathmandu at 3 star Nepalese standard hotel.
  • Transportation in Pokhara
  • Annapurna Conservation Area Permit Fee
  • Trekkers Information Management System (TIMS) card
  • Daily meals (breakfast, lunch & dinner) during the trek
  • Daily hot drinks such as tea, coffee and hot chocolate
  • 1 experienced and license holder trekking guide and his daily meal, wage & accommodation
  • 1 porter/carrier for a group of 2 person ( carry 20-25kg) and his daily meal, wage & accommodation
  • Trekking equipment such as down jacket, sleeping bag (refundable after the trek)
  • 2 nights accommodation in Pokhara on twin sharing basis
  • Twin sharing accommodation during the trek
  • Our service charge & value added tax

The Trip Cost Excludes

  • Insurance - coverage your personal accidents, medical and Helicopter Evacuation
  • Meals in Kathmandu ( Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner)
  • Nepal entry visa fee, International flights
  • Your personal expenses such as alcoholic drinks, cold drinks, mineral water, laundry, internet, phonecall
  • Expenses occurred due to unavoidable Events i.e. road wrecks, flight delays etc.
  • Extra expenses such as camera battery charging cost, taking shower, hot water etc
  • Tips for the guide & porter